# Alan O. Olson

Olson Law Office, P.C. 3116 Ingersoll Avenue Des Moines, Iowa 50312 Office: (515) 271-9100 Mobile: (515) 778-7980

Email: aoo3116@gmail.com



# Trial Practice, Personal Injury, Wrongful Death Litigation

**EDUCATION:** National Judicial College, Reno, NV

Faculty Development Curriculum, Graduate, 2019

Drake Law School, Des Moines, IA

Juris Doctor, 1992

Drake University, Des Moines, IA

B.A. in Sociology, *Cum Laude*, 1989 President, Honors Program, 1987-89

**EMPLOYMENT:** Olson Law Office, P.C., Des Moines, IA

Managing Partner/Owner, 1998-present

Humphrey & Haas, P.C., Des Moines, IA, Associate, 1996-98

Wiedenfeld Law Office, Clive, IA, Associate, 1994-96

Law Clerk, Hon. Dick R. Schlegel, Iowa Court of Appeals, 1992-94

**RATING:** AV (Martindale-Hubbell), 2003-present

**ADMISSIONS:** U.S. Supreme Court, 2000

U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, 1995

U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Iowa, 1995 U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Iowa, 1994

Supreme Court of Iowa, 1993

**PERSONAL:** Married to Carla K. Olson, LMSW, SAP

Children: Derek Alan (25) and Logan Eric (23)

## **American Bar Association**

House of Delegates, 2003-present

Issues of Concern to the Legal Profession Committee, 2024-present

Chair, Select Committee of the House of Delegates, 2022-24

Chair, Appointments Ad Hoc Committee, 2022-23

Conference of Section & Division Delegates, 2023-present

Conference of State Delegates, 2014-2023

House of Delegates Rules and Calendar Committee, 2012-14

Chair, House of Delegates Resolution Impact Committee, 2010-12

House of Delegates Credentials and Admissions Committee, 2008-10

Chair, House of Delegates Technology & Communications Committee, 2004-08

Iowa State Delegate, 2014-23

Iowa State Bar Association Delegate, 2006-2014

Delegate to House of Delegates, ABA Young Lawyers Division, 2003-06

House of Delegates Nominating Committee, 2014-2023

Standing Committee on Membership, 2002-04; 2011-13

Presidential Appointments Committee, 2002-03; 2010-11; 2020-21; 2022-23;

Standing Committee on Continuing Legal Education, 2004-06

Chair, Young Lawyers Division, 2002-03

American Bar Foundation, Iowa State Chair, 2004-11

American Bar Foundation, Lifetime Fellow, 2004-present

Solo, Small Firm & General Practice Division, 2003-present

Secretary, 2024-present

Budget Officer, 2018-24

Revenue Development Director, 2010-2018

Division Council, 2004-07; 2010-present

Executive Committee, 2010-present

Chair, Finance Committee, 2018-2024

Book Publications Board, 2018-present

Division Director; 2006-08; 2015-17

Chair, Nominating Committee, 2009

Nominating Committee, 2008-10; 2012-2017

Long Range Planning Committee, 2005-09

Deputy Chair, Revenue Development Committee, 2008-10

Chair Corporate Sponsors Committee, 2005-08

House of Delegates Committee, 2003-present

Thomson West National Solo/Small Firm Advisory Board, 2007-10

Section of Litigation, 1995-2017

Section of Tort Trial and Insurance Practice, 1995-2017

ABA Day in Washington, 2013-present

#### **Iowa State Bar Association**

Administrative Committee, 1998-99; 2012-13; 2022-present

Member, Future Needs Task Force, 2024-present

Chair, Ways and Means Committee, 2022-present

Sesquicentennial Committee, 2022

President, Iowa State Bar Foundation Fellows, 2017-2023

Iowa State Delegate to ABA House of Delegates, 2014-2023

Bar Delegate to ABA House of Delegates, 2006-14

Board of Governors, 1996-99; 2006-present (ex-officio)

Chair, Scope and Correlation Committee, 2012-13

Iowa's Fair and Impartial Courts Committee, 2011-13

Chair, Continuing Legal Education Committee, 2005-09

"Raise the Bar" Capital Campaign Steering Committee, 2006-08

ISBA Award of Merit Selection Committee, 2005-06

General Practice, Solo & Small Firm Conference Steering Committee, 2005-06

Professional Development Committee, 2004-05

ABA President/President-Elect Annual Meeting Coordinator/Host, 2003-present

Multi-Jurisdictional Practice Task Force, 2001-03

Multi-Disciplinary Practice Committee, 2000-03

Iowa State Bar Foundation, Life Fellow, 2001-present

Young Lawyers Division Award of Merit, Recipient, 1999

Young Lawyers Division, President, 1998-99

Section of Litigation, 1993-2020

#### **International Society of Barristers**

Fellow, 2022-present

#### Iowa Association for Justice (f/k/a Iowa Trial Lawyers Association)

President, 2010-11

President-Elect, 2009-10

Vice President of Member Services, 2008-09

Vice President of Public Affairs, 2007-08

Parliamentarian, 2007-08

Executive Committee, 2006-12

Board of Governors, 2005-12

Recipient, Meritorious Achievement Award, 2005

Legislative Committee, 2006-12

Chair, Sponsorship Committee, 2005-11

Continuing Legal Education Committee, 2007-12

Elections Committee, 2005-11

#### **Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers**

Fellow, 2010-present

#### **American Board of Trial Advocates**

Member, 2013-present

### **Iowa Legal Aid**

President, Board of Directors, 2013-15
Vice President, 2011-13
Executive Committee, 2011-2016
Board of Directors, 2007-16
Chair, Personnel, Governance and Grievance Committee, 2011-12
Development, Finance and Audit Committee, 2007-11
Equal Justice After Hours Fundraising Committee, 2008-12
Foundation Board, 2016-19

#### **Iowa Legal Aid Foundation**

Board of Directors, 2016-2019

## **Distinctions and Awards**

Iowa State Bar Association, Award of Merit, 2023

The National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Civil Plaintiff Attorney, 2022

ABA Solo, Small Firm and General Practice Division, *Difference Makers Award – Making a Difference Through Community Service*, 2021

The Bar Register of Preeminent Lawyers (Martindale-Hubbell), 2003-present

ABA Section Officer Conference Outstanding Service Award, Awarded to ABA YLD, 2002-03

Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers Joint Trial Advocacy College, Graduate, 1995

Iowa Supreme Court Board of Law Examiners, Bar Examiner

Asst. Editor, Iowa Academy of Trial Lawyers Trial Handbook, Cumulative Supplement, 1993

Inductee, American Mock Trial Association Judges Hall of Fame

American Mock Trial Association Outstanding Coach Award, 1993

Chief Justice W.W. Reynoldson Award, 1993

Blackstone Inn of Court, 1992-2000

National Order of Barristers, 1992

National Law School Trial Advocacy Competition, Midwest Regional Champion, 1992

National Champion, National Intercollegiate Mock Trial Tournament, 1993 (Head Coach)

National Champion, National Intercollegiate Mock Trial Tournament, 1989 (Participant)

National Intercollegiate Mock Trial Tournament Outstanding Attorney Award (First Place), 1989

Recipient, Lewis J. McNurlen Award and Scholarship for Outstanding Sociology Major, 1989

Member, Alpha Kappa Delta Honor Society, 1989

Member, Omicron Delta Kappa Honor Society, 1989

Member, Mortar Board Honor Society, 1989

# **Drake Law School**

President, Board of Counselors, 2017-18 Board of Counselors, 2015-2021